Goosebumps by Jacqueline Nash


Goosebumps

Dark room.

Cold morning light begins to peep
furtively through the bedroom curtains,
waking hiding shadows,
forcing them into existence.

Slowly, I rouse from a disturbed sleep,
bad dreams already beginning to fade
from memory.

I sense your body close to mine,
your warmth, soft and comforting,
reassuring.

I feel your hand gently stroke my thigh;
goosebumps.
Drowsily, I turn to face you,
to embrace you.

Not fully awake I force my eyes open,
then, realisation,
loneliness stabs at my heart
as I try desperately
not to fall into
the empty space next to me.

Sympathetic shadows
offer their company.

This entry was posted in Poem, Poet, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Goosebumps by Jacqueline Nash

  1. deuxiemepeau says:

    This packs a punch! The comfort longed for and the emptiness that embraces you in its absence! Really haunting. Congratulations- it left me with goosebumps.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jcnashpoems says:

    Thank you for your comment Damien, pleased you liked it. My husband has been ill and was in hospital again recently, one morning I forgot for that short moment upon waking that he wasn’t there, hence, this poem was born.

    Like

  3. Painfully beautiful. Hope things are fine now and you never wake up alone again!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jcnashpoems says:

    Thank you Prateek, all is fine at the moment so fingers crossed πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. May says:

    Oh so beautifully sad πŸ˜•β€οΈ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

