Living a Lie by Jacqueline Nash

Living a Lie

Constantly trying but quietly drowning
as I act my parts so well,
going for an Oscar,
I wait for the applause
guarding my façade.
Hating every minute with a smile on my face
as I live the lie.
Coming up for air in a sea of emotions
as I try not to lose grip
of my identity,
only to be pushed back under
by the hands of society
forcing me to conform.

On the edge, slowly being buried alive,
standing on the outside looking in,
never feeling part of anything,
watching from the fringes
as I try to fit the slot.
Hating every minute with a smile on my face
as I live the lie.
Stifled, I claw my way out of the earth,
mud in my mouth, I spit it out,
try to speak,
but I am silenced, as they only hear
what they want to hear,
they just want me to conform.

This entry was posted in Poem, Poet, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Living a Lie by Jacqueline Nash

  1. Excellent poetry Jacqueline!! I’m sure there area many who feel exactly like this. Nonconformity has always been right for me, not in an arrogant way, but just to be able to be myself. Being ourselves, having our own thoughts, and being free to say how we feel, all without discomfort or ridicule is something very precious. There’s no other way for me! 🙂

    Like

  2. jcnashpoems says:

    Thank you Suzy. Yes, you’re right, some people just have a different mind set and should be allowed to be who they are. Some people can be so judgmental if you look a bit different to the norm, whereas I think that diversity in everything makes life more interesting. It seems that the powers that be would like to put us all into little boxes and turn us all out the same, people with no individuality, no tolerance for difference – into automatons who don’t question anything. Rant now over. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello again Jacqueline, I have a request! I’m looking for poetry for the January issue of The Writing Garden https://thewritinggarden.wordpress.com/ Just wondering if it would be okay to publish this thoughtful poem of yours?

    Just in case you didn’t know – there are no printed copies of this magazine or any money involved for myself or the writers. It’s free for anyone to read, the aim primarily to help promote writers on websites and blogs from all over the internet.

    Copyright remains with the writer and I always include a link back to where the work was originally published and also any other social media links you’d like me to include (please let me know which ones – if you have any).

    If you would be interested in allowing me to publish your work please let me know. But if you’d rather not, don’t hesitate to say no, I really won’t mind. 🙂

    Like

  4. jcnashpoems says:

    Thank you Suzy, will be very happy for you to publish Living a Lie in your January Issue of The Writing Garden and would be grateful if you could include links to my other WordPress Blog Jacqueline C Nash Micropoetry, Twitter and Facebook page. All links can be found on my About page. Thank you again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Jacqueline! Yes, I’ll certainly include your links for Facebook, Twitter and your other micropoetry blog. When it’s published I’ll get back to you here with a link. Looking forward to sharing your poetry!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Writing Garden ~ Issue Seven | The Writing Garden

  6. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Love this for all the reasons stated by those before me. Superb.

    Like

  7. jcnashpoems says:

    Much appreciated Candice and thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my poetry. 🙂

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for your thought provoking poetry Jacqueline!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

