Photographs by Jacqueline Nash

Photographs

Tucked away in a dark corner
at the bottom of the cupboard,
battered lid atop,
sits a tatty, brown cardboard box,
waiting to be opened.
I take off the lid,
sepia faces stare back at me,
family history.

I tip them onto the carpet,
assorted sizes,
some crumpled,
some with folds,
some stained with ring marks
from cups of coffee or tea
drunk many years ago,
and some; almost perfect.

Aunts, uncles, grandparents,
great aunts and uncles,
great grandparents,
with friends and people
they had met along their way.

Trips to the seaside,
parties,
men in uniform
smoking in the garden,
new born babies,
studio photos of women
trying to look like film stars;
all frozen, locked in a moment of time.

A pang of sadness
grips my heart,
they are
somehow depressing.

Although taken in happy times,
they are brown reminders of
relatives once young,
once alive, enjoying life,
reminders that they once existed.

I feel myself mourning their loss.

With a sad heart
and a sense of my own mortality,
I return them to their box,
replace the dusty, battered lid
and place them once again
in the dark corner

at the bottom of the cupboard.

This entry was posted in Poem, Poet, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photographs by Jacqueline Nash

  1. Oh yes, this is how I feel about old family photos and pretty much anyone’s old photos, nice to see I’m not the only one who feels like that. I’ve been looking at some of my ancestors who I never see before until very recently – fascinating to see the resemblance in some of them, but fills me with a certain sadness that we will never meet, and they are too a large extent forgotten. If only time machines were real, what fun we’d have with our long departed family! 🙂

    Like

  2. jcnashpoems says:

    Thank you for your comment Suzy, I love the idea of a time machine, maybe we would be able to meet relatives of the future too – children of our grand or great grandchildren, a lovely thought. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hooklineandinkwell says:

    I have all the family photo albums and frequently take trips back into the past…and doing so always makes me feel the way you so poignantly describe it in this piece…thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jcnashpoems says:

    Thank you so much for your comment, I thought I was a little odd when it came to photographs, but it seems that many people share these feelings. Thank you for visiting and for all your likes, much appreciated 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

