The Beat Goes On – Jacqueline Nash

The Beat Goes On

I listen to the music,
to the rhythm of the drum,
to the playing of the guitar,
remembering when I was young.

I kick off my shoes
and I dance around the floor,
and soon I am flying,
I just have to fly some more.

Higher and higher
as the beat goes on,
pulsating to that sound,
the music and my body are one.

I’m much older now,
but inside I feel the same,
the young woman inside me
screams out to remain.

So forget all your worries
and come dance with me.
I’ll take you to heaven
and I’ll set your soul free.

Where we’ll listen to the music,
to the rhythm of the drum,
to the playing of the guitar
and we’ll stay eternally young.

This entry was posted in Poem, Poet, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

