Work Day Blues – Jacqueline Nash

Today being a Monday, I thought that this poem would be a good one for my post. It’s a bit different to the poems I usually write, but I wanted to write one in the form of a Blues Song. This is for all the exploited people out there, who work extremely hard, long, long hours for a pittance, chasing their tails on a never ending treadmill.

~

Work Day Blues

Well I woke up this morning
and I crawled right out of bed.
Still tired and yawning
knew I had to earn some bread.
On this new day dawning,
a long day of work stretched out ahead.

Well I walked out the door
and I walked on down the street.
I’m so doggone poor
so my transport is my feet.
No bus for me’s for sure,
‘cos the fare’s a luxury I can’t meet.

Well I graft hard all day
’till my body’s bruised and sore.
I get a measly pay
which hardly seems worth working for.
Not much time for play,
how much more must I endure.

Well my day of work is done
and so I stroll back to my place.
Prepare a meagre meal for one
which hardly fills the hungry space.
back to bed where day begun,
to revive for tomorrow’s rat race.

This entry was posted in lyrics, Poem, Poet, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

