The Wise Man – Jacqueline Nash

Have you ever questioned your motives for doing the things you do, from the clothes you wear, the books you read, to the places you visit or the music you listen to. Do you do things because you really want to or because you feel you should or because you believe it’s what other people expect of you. Do you do things because of your fear of missing out, your fear of not fitting in with everybody else and being left out, because you do not want to be seen to be different or do you do things simply to impress. I think that these days there is so much pressure on everybody to “fit in” that we end up doing things we really don’t enjoy doing or would prefer not to do at all. Sometimes it is the simplest things in life that give us the most pleasure.

My motto in life has always been to be true to yourself. I believe we should stand up for what we believe in and we shouldn’t be forced into being someone we are not. I think you will be surprised to find that people actually respect you more for being yourself, for being an individual with your own thoughts and ideas about life, for it would be a boring world if we were all the same. Therefore I feel we should celebrate our differences. Look deep inside yourself and find out who you really are. My poem “The Wise Man” is about just this.

~

The Wise Man

You say you are a wise man for you have travelled near and far.
From the camel trail of India to the shores of Zanzibar.
You have seen magnificent sunsets, felt searing heat upon your skin.
Dined on exotic dishes and viewed famous buildings from within.
Have you ever looked inside yourself, do you know who you really are
or do you have to find yourself by travelling afar.

You say you are a wise man for you have studied relentlessly.
A well educated man with a University Degree.
You have read your way through War and Peace and Das Kapital too,
the Iliad and the Odyssey to mention just a few.
Education and studying is all very well and good
but do you take time to smell the roses, time to taste your food.

My travelling is limited, the attraction was never there.
When I relax and close my eyes I can go anywhere.
To explore the mind is magical and brings a wisdom of it’s own.
I can travel the world, the universe from the comfort of my home.
More than that I find out who I am and why I do the things I do.
Contemplation brings realisation with wisdom old and true.

Embracing life is admirable and we should do nothing less.
But do things for the right reasons and not just to impress.
Do things because you want to and not because you feel you should.
Be true to yourself, be kind to yourself, to like yourself is good.
For when our lives come to an end, only the wise man can say,
I loved every minute of my life and don’t regret a single day. ©

This entry was posted in Poem, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

