Into the Mouth of the Wind – Jacqueline Nash

As we are being given a weather warning of strong winds in the aftermath of  Hurricane Gonzalo today, I thought it would be appropriate to post my poem, “Into the Mouth of the Wind.” I wrote this poem some time ago and it is an actual memory of when I was a young teenager, when I just ran into the wind, embracing it, feeling so uplifted and at one with it. Please feel free to comment below and maybe tell of your experiences with the wind.

~

Into the Mouth of the Wind – Jacqueline Nash

I run down the lane into the mouth of the wind,
with great force his breath surrounds me.
My ears are filled with his wails and his screams
and I’m uplifted by his energy.

He puffs out his cheeks and gives an almighty blow
which slows down my progress.
But I’ll not be deterred so I carry right on
embracing his powerfulness.

The wind he blows and makes my eyes water,
tears roll down my face.
My long wild hair trails like ribbons behind me
blowing all over the place.

Exhilarating, exciting, all cobwebs blown away,
I am filled with a sense of freedom.
Today the blustery wind so stimulating
lifts my spirits beyond reason. ©

This entry was posted in Poem, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

