Me – Spike Milligan

The zany Spike Milligan, comedian, writer, musician, poet, playwright, soldier and actor was a troubled soul who suffered with bi-polar disorder and had many break downs. He wrote and edited many books as well as writing verse in the genre of literary nonsense. While depressed he also wrote serious poetry which is compiled in the book ‘Open Heart University’. I have selected one of his poems called ‘Me’.

Spike Milligan

Me – Spike Milligan

Born screaming small into this world-
Living I am.
Occupational therapy twixt birth and death-
What was I before?
What will I be next?
What am I now?
Cruel answer carried in the jesting mind
of a careless God
I will not bend and grovel
When I die. If He says my sins are myriad
I will ask why He made me so imperfect
And he will say ‘My chisels were blunt’
I will say ‘Then why did you make so
many of me’.

This entry was posted in Poem, Poet, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

