Haunting Memories by Jacqueline Nash

Haunting Memories

I’m haunted by memories I thought long dead.
They stole a ride, travelling on the wind of time.
Ghosts from the past managed to steal into my head,
as I slept in my bed, unaware of their furtive crime.

Now they appear when least expected.
Refusing to leave, enjoying their taunting game.
I try to ignore them but they will not be ejected,
as they grow even stronger, they fight to remain.

Why have these demons come back to haunt me?
Why won’t they go back to where they belong?
Back to their graves of the past with their history,
buried for good where they can do me no wrong.

I’ve tried to evict them, these squatters of mind,
but tonight I’m determined they take their leave.
Tomorrow morning I hope to wake and find,
that the wind of change has made its retrieve.  ©

This entry was posted in Poem, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

