Everything is Interconnected by Jacqueline Nash

I seem to be on a theme of dreams at the moment so I thought I would put on another dream related poem. I don’t know if anybody else has ever had a dream when you are flying, I would be interested to hear about them. As you’ve probably guessed, this poem is about flying in a dream. Hope you enjoy it.

~

Everything is Interconnected

Last night I dreamt that I could fly,
effortlessly, so weightless and free.
My spirit rose and touched the sky
and although alone I did not feel lonely,
for I felt connected to all I passed by
and felt everything connected to me.

I surveyed the earth from a great height,
the beauty below was amazing to see.
It stretched far and wide in my sight
showing nature’s wondrous scenery,
illuminated by the moon’s bright light
and the stars that twinkled all around me.

Rivers wound through forests of trees,
through patchworks of fields to the sea.
Cascading waterfalls in mountain ranges
splashing to the ground dramatically.
I could feel the slightest hint of a breeze
but my destination was not clear to me.

So I flew on, never tiring of the views,
flying over the homes of many a family,
feeling their happiness and their blues,
I felt so many emotions rising up at me.
Babies being born bringing joyful news,
the dead, their souls rising – set free.

Suddenly I knew my journey was ending,
the destination was knowledge it brought to me.
Last night the universe had been my awakening,
for as I slept, it had taught with such clarity
that everything in the universe is interconnecting,
I am the universe and the universe is me. ©

This entry was posted in Poem, Poetry, Verse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

